Posted by: Ethan Johnson | November 21, 2010

NCAA D-III Women’s Volleyball Final Tomorrow

The finalists for the NCAA D-III Women’s Volleyball Championship have been determined: Emory will face Calvin College tomorrow at 2:00pm Central Time. As a result, I won’t be able to watch the live stream.

I was shocked that Juniata did not advance to the final, especially after establishing a comfortable 2-0 lead. Calvin pulled together and took the match all 5 sets and closed the deal.

Emory took less time to dispatch Washington-St Louis, needing 4 sets to secure their spot in the final. I found it interesting that Washington used some of Carthage College’s trick plays to try to stay above water, but Emory was too focused and determined for that to be an effective strategy. I was disappointed that it wasn’t a 5-set nailbiter but once it became clear that Emory was the team of destiny, I just wanted the game to end quickly.

I’d have to pick Emory to win it all tomorrow, but I do give Calvin ample respect from clawing back from a 2-0 deficit. They’re going to need that sort of determination to claim the title.

Categories

