Posted by: Ethan | July 15, 2010

FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup Underway

I stumbled upon the USA/Ghana game in the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup last night and got to thinking about the recurring theme on Wendy Parker’s blog about the “invisibility” of women’s sports. In brief, Ms. Parker takes the side that there is a bounty of women’s sports to pick from, should anyone take an interest. Apparently I need to be nicer to ESPN because they are devoting a fair amount of air time on their ESPNU band to this event.

I agree with Wendy Parker that things are “invisible” only to the extent that people choose to acknowledge them. I want to be part of the solution, and will endeavor to put up more announcements like this one to draw attention to the various women’s sporting events that might otherwise escape notice.

USA tied 1-1 with Ghana, which also got me thinking about a recent episode of “Vanguard” on Current TV about “soccer slaves”. The program noted that Ghana is completely soccer mad, and seeing the quality of play from the women, having just seen the men in the World Cup advance to the knockout stage and beat the USA, made me glad to see that there was some degree of parity. I don’t know much about Ghana’s approach to fielding a national team, but I didn’t feel like Ghana was in any way treating their U-20 women as “second class”.

My mother watched the USA/Sweden friendly the other night (I missed it, rats) and noted that it was a vuvuzela-free zone and hoped that the 2011 Women’s World Cup would be as well. I did hear some toots during the USA/Ghana game but nothing like the bee swarm during the men’s World Cup.

The FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup runs from July 13 to August 1. USA! USA!

Categories

