Posted by: Ethan Johnson | June 26, 2010

Martina Prevails

I haven’t been saying much about Wimbledon, but will take a moment to direct everyone to the Tennis Channel, which is again offering excellent coverage of the tournament. And it’s another chance to appreciate the insights of Martina Navratilova, breast cancer survivor.

For a week, Navratilova barely moved. She felt anger, shock. She asked herself the question many people ask, starting with “why” and ending with “me.”

Life stopped.

“It felt like you were a prisoner in your own body,” Navratilova said. “And that was a new experience for me. It was not like spraining your ankle, you know.”

As noted in the article, Martina Navratilova may not be a saint (I have no comments about her personal life) but her approach to beating cancer is an inspiration and one I will remember when faced with any sort of adversity. “Martina beat breast cancer,” I’ll say to myself, “and I can beat this.”

Categories

