Posted by: Ethan | June 24, 2010

USA: The Nats are the Nats are the Nats

Yes, it’s a basketball site, but the Women’s Hoops Blog had this to say about some of the coverage concerning the USA’s showing in the 2010 FIFA World Cup™:

All hail Donovan, but tell me what’s wrong with this paragraph:

The best player on the U.S. national team confirmed his place as the best player in U.S. history at the moment when his team and his country needed him most. Thanks to a lightning-quick stoppage-time counterattack started and finished by 28-year-old Landon Donovan, the Americans overcame an amazing series of earlier misses and their Algerian opponents to win 1-0, and advance to the World Cup’s round of 16 as the winners of Group C.

For the record: It’s the MEN’S US National Team.

I agree with the semantic argument (correction?) but don’t want this to get into a pissing match between the USMNT and the USWNT.

For the record, I am more of a “fan” of the USWNT, but overall I am a United States citizen, and therefore my country is my country. Yes, I want the USWNT to win anything and everything. The soccer event of the year is happening now with the World Cup, and after the crap showing that was 2006, if the USMNT can go where no USA Men’s national soccer team has gone before, I am all for it.

What I don’t want to happen, and I believe this is what the Women’s Hoops Blog was advocating against, is for soccer in the USA to define itself based on the success or failure solely of the USA Men. My dream is for competitive events across genders to be defined by country. A gold medal in the Olympics for the USA is a gold medal, no matter if Shaun White or Candace Parker brings it home.

Sadly, not everyone shares this dream which is how articles like the one referenced above paves over decades of accomplishment by the USA women because the men happen to be having a good run this year. I’m hopeful that the 2011 FIFA Women’s World Cup™ has some nationalistic currency but that yet remains to be seen.

So: Without caveats, I say, go USA!

Categories

