Posted by: Ethan | May 10, 2010

WPS: Fantasy Week 5 Results

If it’s Monday, it’s time to check in with the WPS Fantasy Challenge.

I jumped the gun last week and posted “final” results that did not include Sunday’s game. I actually did slightly better than advertised, but that’s splitting hairs at this point. How did Team AA_Blog do this week?

WPS fantasy results

Neutral Gear United

UGH.

Ca-mon, I read the WPS Fantasy Report. I did the 3-4-3 shape again to minimize defensive liabilities while increasing scoring firepower. I even stuck Sinclair in the lineup because – gee whiz, she has got to be good a for a few points, right? I even read the injury reports and avoided fielding a bunch of goose eggs.

My forwards canceled out (not sure what Sinclair actually did this past weekend) thanks to a Kelly Smith yellow card. My midfield was more like a minefield with 2 yellow cards. My bright spot was (once again) DEEEE-FENSE, but even that was marred by Karen Bardsley having a monster game in goal for Sky Blue FC. (I stubbornly stuck with Hope Solo.)

Week 5 ranking: #1403 (Facepalm)

Week 4 ranking: #1429

Week 3 ranking: #1427

Week 2 ranking: #1463

Week 1 ranking: #1345

Hokay. No more motivational speeches. This week is all about “past performance is a total guarantee of future results”, and nobody is safe from being benched. Hope Solo is probably off the roster in Week 6. It ain’t personal. Kelly Smith is a yellow card magnet and probably isn’t long for the starting XI either. I don’t have any designs on breaking into the top 100 in this game but I want up and OUT of the 1400s. Time for maximum damage.

As an aside, Atlanta is better than their record indicates so it will be tough deciding how to factor this week’s game into the starting XI. Washington *could* flatten them or this could be the week they go bananas and make up for a bad start to the season. Hmmmm.

Tune in next week…

Categories

