Posted by: Ethan | April 17, 2010

Roller Derby Art Appreciation

I have been getting revved up for tonight’s roller derby action by checking out the various teams around the USA. Here are some bout posters that caught my eye:

Bleeding Heartland Rollergirls bout poster

Who: Bleeding Heartland Rollergirls (Bloomington, Indiana)

Whoever does the art for the BHRG is really clever. I’m a fool for well-crafted derby bout posters and this one is one of the best that I have seen to date.

Texas Rollergirls Bout Poster

Who: The Texas Rollergirls (Austin, TX)

The Texas Rollergirls get a fair amount of national exposure as their travel team is a perennial contender for the championship (or seems to be). It’s good to know that my search for heroes can be fulfilled with one three-and-a-half hour drive down I-35. I’ll probably just watch them on Mav TV until I can make the trek to see them “in concert”.

Derby City Rollergirls Poster

Who: Derby City Rollergirls (Louisville, Kentucky)

It’s hard to fathom (for me, anyway), but yes, there is a such thing as men’s roller derby. This poster works on many levels, the least of which is the “marriage” of the two leagues for one doubleheader night of derby. Check their site out for more cool bout posters.

To find out who your local derby girls are, visit the WFTDA member leagues page.

Categories

